spring break: the rest of it

April 21, 2010

I don’t think I mentioned in my Easter post that we spent the Saturday before Easter in downtown Savannah. I forgot my camera on that excursion and I regret it because we had so many fun adventures that day! I kinda makes me sick to think about it. But we don’t have to have pictures to have memories! We visited River St., rode the trolley, ate the most amazing kettle corn ever, rode on the water taxi across the river, learned that Adelaide really doesn’t like boats, played in the sandbox, shopped a little, ate ice cream, and eventually ended up in the newest Savannah square and played in the water fountain. Adelaide and Sami were completely soaked by the end of it, so it is good we did this last.  Man, I wish I had pictures.

The best moment of the day was when Brad completely surprised me with a gift. I had been visiting some of the craft stands out on River St. and found a necklace I really liked. I didn’t intend on buying it, I just mentioned that I thought it was cool and went on my way. Later that day, after the Ellis Sq. fountain adventure, we all piled in the car and Brad said, “Hey, I found this on the ground…want it?” It was a box containing the necklace I had mentioned. Of course, he didn’t find it on the ground. He had wondered off at some point to buy it…though I don’t know when that was exactly. I just started crying because it was such a surprise and so sweet. Good, GOOD husband!

The rest of spring break was full of first. Vivienne attended her first baseball game on Thursday night! Anyone who knows us well, knows this will be the first of many. Adelaide has already been to around 30.  This was a night of misadventures, we had to park a REALLY long way away and we unintentionally went on two-for-one beer night. So, the crowd was exactly what we are use to being around. We decided to go home when the rain started. We were hoping to stay for the fireworks, but the rain changed that for us. All in all it was a great night!

Vivi with Savta and Paboo at her first baseball game!

During a trip to the mall, Vivienne had another first. She got to ride an “ice cream truck” with Adelaide. Fun times! On Friday night we went to see “Bye Bye Birdie” at Calvary. Nick worked backstage and his girlfriend, Lauren, had several roles. We took Adelaide and Vivienne to see the play, which I was nervous about. But, they were both great! They had a good time and I enjoyed seeing the production. We did “Bye Bye Birdie” when I was high school, so it was fun to see it again.

Saturday we had a cookout with Nathan and Chelsea. Nathan made amazing burgers! The food was yummy and the company was great. We also had another first, Adelaide gave her first haircut. Ha! My dad decided it was time for a cut and Adelaide was dying to help. Truth be told, Mom did the haircut, Sami did his beard, but Adelaide made a few snips and felt like she was a part of it all!

Before

Adelaide makes the cut!

Possibly my favorite picture of all time!

After

Maybe true love is letting your two year old granddaughter cut your hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

