halloween: a retrospective

November 19, 2010

Oh Halloween! Usually this is one of my very favorite times of the year. I love the fall, candy and dressing up. For some reason, I really didn’t get “into it” this year. I think there is just way too much going on in my life right now. But, even though I was a bit aloof, I still enjoyed the day!

We were lucky enough to spend the weekend with Savta and Paboo! It was a lovely weekend – beautiful weather and many fun memories. Plus, ALL FIVE of us kiddos were there! That rarely happens these days.

Saturday started with charity walk for the Zoe Foundation, which is an organization to help families who have suffered the loss of a child through miscarriage, stillbirth and early infant death. Having suffered a miscarriage myself, I have a personal connection to the other families who have lost babies and am encouraged by the work of this organization.  I was so amazed and humbled to have my two precious, healthy babies with me that day! What a profound blessing they are! We released balloons in honor of our little angels and enjoyed a brisk walk around Forsyth Park. My walk, however, took a detour to the playground since my little blessings were again humbling me with their not-so-precious behavior. 🙂

Watching the balloons!

 

After lunch we strolled around town and enjoyed the pretty day! Brad and Nick went off to a car race on Hutchinson Island and the rest of us rode the trolley! The girls love the trolley – but who doesn’t? It was fun!

That evening we went to Oatland Island for some (educational) trick or treating. It was the perfect set up for trick or treating with toddlers. There was an Enchanted Forest where you could “hike” down a trail and stop at various characters who told you something about the environment and then gave you candy! At the end there were snacks, Mother Goose (who sang some fun songs with us) and a hayride that took you back to your car. Pretty awesome! Adelaide also got to ride a horse, which was the highlight of the night (maybe the year).

And since I never posted a picture of Adelaide all dressed up for her school Halloween party, I will add it here:

She is sporting the awesome Halloween mask she made. Here is a close up:

A mask by Adelaide!

And since I can’t help myself because she is so stinkin cute, here is a precious picture of Vivienne giving me her awesome grin:

Leave a Reply

